Earlier in the week, I had the opportunity to attend a workshop to develop my skills on Maya, an industry standard 3D modelling tool.

I learned a lot about it’s interface and some of the processes involved in creating a model or scene, though this week was a foundation of learning that will later be expanded upon with proper practices and more advanced tools.

Bridge5

After getting a good grasp on the tools available to me, I spent the workshop putting together a model for a simple bridge alongside a scene for it to sit in. While this bridge and scene aren’t related to my development pipeline for the project, the exercise was a good indicator of how Maya could be useful to me later down the line.

It was interesting to discover how much of my previous CAD software skills (namely Inventor and Solidworks) were transferable to Maya. After getting to grips with the interface, I was able to relatively quickly put together this scene and model, and i’m very happy with how it turned out despite it only being a quick practice session.